Forerunners – Pure Progressive Vol.2 Tracklist:

Disc 1 – The Artist.
01. Forerunners – Our Miracles
02. Forerunners – Communicator
03. Forerunners – Night Symmetry
04. Nugen – Deliverance (Forerunners Remix Redux)
05. Forerunners – Dreams for You
06. Forerunners – Hazel Eyes
07. Forerunners – Sunreturn
08. Forerunners – Flood of Memories
09. Basil O’Glue – The Promise (Forerunners Remix)
10. Forerunners – Lost in Our Years

Disc 2 – The DJ.
01. Alfoa – Headwaters
02. Dimuth K – Amazonia
03. East Café – When Chaos Ends
04. Waxman – Never the Same
05. Nick Stoynoff – Luck Pluck
06. Yuriy from Russia & FLERIN – Avalokite
07. Partenaire – Gardens of Genesis
08. EL1AX – Sculpture Park
09. Forerunners & Mike Isai – Arrakis
10. qoob – The Four Stages of Man
11. ManIsMetaphor – Escape
12. Nick Silvestri – Break of Dawn
13. Tech D – Fixity
14. Forerunners – Hymn

If ever there was a summer that needed something a little cooler channelling into it, well surely it’d be this one. That kind of salvation is close at hand, as July sees the Progressive wing of Solarstone’s Pure marque serve its second long-player.

Having helmed Volume 1, Orkidea yields the P.P. wheelhouse to another institution from the Progressive genre. Released on Solarstone’s Deepblue label in 2007, ‘Lifecycle’ immediately put Forerunners on the lips the scene’s heaviest hitting DJs. Arizona’s Brenden LaBonte has scarcely broken his release stride since. Effortlessly delivering deep progressive majesty time after time, over half his career releases have seen the light on Solarstone’s labels, the last seven of which all on Pure Progressive.

While two years might seem like a long interval between editions, Pure Progressive volumes are no mean feat and certainly no small undertaking. Involving both the creation of an artist album and a mix compilation, ‘PP2’ follows suit, delivering the best of both worlds to fans. Its first disc The Artist brings 8 new Brenden LaBonte productions and 2 new remixes to the fore. Disc 2’s The DJ meanwhile builds a 14 strong track complement into a formidable mix, perfectly echoing the Pure Progressive sound. Included amongst them is music from label regulars like Nick Stoynoff, qoob, Nick Silvestri, & Basil O’Glue, as well as a further two new Forerunners creations.

Of his approach to the composition and mixing of the album, Brenden says, “when I listen to the music I wrote for this album, I remember what originally captured my soul when I got started in this industry. It is a pure expression of sounds and ideas without constraint or expectations. Each track tells a story and fits into a larger narrative, from the earlier breakbeats and atmospheric sounds to the higher energy club-infused percussion and melodies. I struggled seriously with some of the arms-race happening in trance and progressive over the years, the pursuit of louder more compressed supersaws and snare rolls, and this 2-disc volume is partially my statement in opposition that I began back in 2015 when I rediscovered the direction the Forerunners project was going to take. What better place than Pure Progressive to release such an album and compilation, a family of labels known for keeping the music we release down to earth and honest.”

An essential for anyone looking to bring if only a touch of chill to their summer, Forerunners’ ‘Pure Progressive Vol. 2’ goes on full release July 29.

Buy / Stream